Ikwezi ‎– Ikwezi (1981)


BITON – BIT 2122, GERMANY, 1981

Amazing copy the vinyl is shiny, clean, and sounds perfect! Super strong EXCELLENT, almost NM condition. The cover looks great with minor storage signs and little edge wear. Contains the printed OIS. The cover picture is a generic one and has nothing to do with the actual offer.

1 in stock

SKU: 2225632339 Category: Tags:



Biton ‎– BIT 2122

IKWEZI was founded by former MOMBASA 2 bassist Donald „DON“ Ridgeway. There is only this awesome IKWEZI album, recorded at Biton Studio Frankfurt, Germany. Finest Afrobeat, Funk & Soul and it’s also slightly Disco influenced. Please check out the far-out 110 BPM Afro-Disco-Funk pleasure ALL THAT DESIRE!

On the back side of the cover are some liner notes, written by Lou Blackburn (MOMBASA), which describes the great IKWEZI sound very well:

Here’s whats happening in 1982. There forces to be have very mystical powers to the of inspiring the very talented young bassist Don Ridgeway, former solo bassist with the African jazz group MOMBASA. The first recordings from the group IKWEZI, led by Don Ridgeway is a mixture off all there is since the rock, punk, disco and new wave scene. Tasteful compositions from Ridgeway with good structure based on the polytonal and obstinate bass lines, puts motion in the body (get down and do it right). This group should be heard, and by the turn of the 1982 season it will be heard. A self style, clean with confidence and conviction.

Lou Blackburn, MOMBASA „81“

A2Since She Left You3:47
A3Foxy Lady3:57
A4Flip Side3:20
A5Krazy Katz3:40
B1Piggy Things3:39
B2Get Down And Do It Right3:55
B3All That I Desire3:00
B4Leave That Possum Alone4:12
B5It's Reality3:42
  • Arranged By [All Tunes Arranged By]- Don Ridgeway
  • Arranged By [All Tunes Arranged By]- Ikwezi
  • Arranged By [Horn Arrangements By]- Don Ridgeway
  • Backing Vocals [Background Vocals]- Susan-Joyce Horowitz
  • Congas [Conga], Percussion- Bayo Martins
  • Congas [Conga], Percussion- Daniel Ford
  • Congas [Conga], Percussion- Tom Nicholas
  • Cover [Cover Batik]- Susan-Joyce Horowitz
  • Engineer [Engineers]- Peter Sorger
  • Engineer [Engineers]- Stephen Seithel
  • Guitar- Frank Wolf
  • Guitar- John Green
  • Guitar- Thomas Knauer
  • Layout- Eva Köster
  • Liner Notes- Don Ridgeway
  • Liner Notes- Lou Blackburn
  • Performer [Ikwezi Is], Bass, Trumpet, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals], Percussion- Don Ridgeway
  • Performer [Ikwezi Is], Drums, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals], Percussion- Gerhard Schäfer
  • Performer [Ikwezi Is], Guitar, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals], Percussion- Billy Allen
  • Performer [Ikwezi Is], Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals]- Joan Faulkner
  • Piano, Keyboards- Jho Kaufmann
  • Piano, Keyboards- Oswind Haas
  • Piano, Keyboards- Stefan Knauer
  • Producer [Produced By]- Don Ridgeway
  • Producer [Produced By]- Gerlinde Engelhardt
  • Saxophone [Saxes]- Christian Felke
  • Trumpet- Jo Reitz