Jazz Club Podium – “Jazzlife” at Night (Vol. I) (1978)


JLP 22-26 /1/2/3/4, JLP 22-26, GERMANY, 1978

Beautiful copy. Carefully used vinyl with some streaking to the surface. Signs of use and storage. Still really great sound, a pleasure to listen to! Cover shows some more obvious signs of age. Slightly yellowed and some dirt marks and storage marks. Overall a really GREAT copy and here again at a super small price. The cover image is a generic image and has nothing to do with the actual offering.

1 in stock

SKU: 2672204655 Category:


Jazz Club Podium e.V.
“Jazzlife” at Night (Vol. I)

Jazz Live Podium – JLP 22-26

Double vinyl compilation housed in a gatefold cover. Very small edition, local private release by Jazz Club Podium e.V. which at that time was located in Alt-Sachsenhausen, the Äppel-woi-nightlife district of Frankfurt. Live recordings, featuring four jazz groups, each one with one side of the album. Sadly mostly old-time swing and dixie-jazz stuff. But one of the groups is called “SOUNDS”, they are more on a modern, groovy and spiritual jazz way. Playing three compositions by Nat Adderley, Cannonball Adderley and Benny Golson. But towering is the self-penned SOUND SPIRIT!

A1Happy Oldtime Swingers Just A Gigolo3:51
A2Happy Oldtime Swingers Chinatown3:31
A3Happy Oldtime Swingers Tin Roof Blues4:00
A4Happy Oldtime Swingers I'm Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover4:19
A5Happy Oldtime Swingers It's A Long Way To Tipperacy3:38
B1Swingstars Willi's Special2:17
B2Swingstars The Song Is Ended4:44
B3Swingstars Mighty Mouse3:04
B4Swingstars May Be It's The Blues2:26
B5Swingstars C-Jam-Blues3:07
B6Swingstars I Ain't Got Nobody2:45
B7Swingstars Wolverine Blues3:24
C1Riverside Stompers Jada4:40
C2Riverside Stompers 'Deed I Do5:00
C3Riverside Stompers The Memphis Blues5:22
C4Riverside Stompers All Of Me5:25
D1"Sounds" Sweet Emma4:38
D2"Sounds" Blues March6:04
D3"Sounds" Marabi4:45
D4"Sounds" Sound Spirit10:46
  • Banjo- Helmut Hase
  • Bass- Horst Caillé
  • Bass- Jann Meyer
  • Bass- Otto Schadenberg
  • Bass- Rudi Bläsing
  • Clarinet- Detlef Mühlbeck
  • Clarinet, Alto Saxophone- Thomas Zumpe
  • Clarinet, Tenor Saxophone- Willi Napp
  • Congas, Percussion- Athur Greaves
  • Cornet- Rudi Bunn
  • Drums- Erich Bodenröder
  • Drums- Heli Kneipp
  • Drums- Manfred Wesle
  • Drums- Reinhard Kuckert
  • Flugelhorn, Trumpet- Werner Rehm
  • Piano- Jürgen Maschke
  • Piano- Robert Fagel
  • Piano- Werner Sahm
  • Piano, Keyboards, Organ- Werner Bauer
  • Sleeve Notes- Carlo Bohländer
  • Tenor Saxophone- Volker Burkhardt
  • Trombone- Heiner Mückenberger
  • Trombone- Jürgen Holz
  • Trombone- Michael Trierweiler
  • Trumpet- Horst Wittich
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Vocals- Klaus Kaestner